Chapter Awards and Member Honours

The Canada West Coast chapter and its members have won a number of awards and honours over the years. Congratulations to all the winners! Everyone’s contributions make this chapter a great one to be a part of.

Community Achievement Award

The Community Achievement Award recognizes a SIG, professional or student chapter’s outstanding Community of Excellenceaccomplishments in achieving the Society’s goals through a wide range of programs and activities.

In the 2012-2013 year, Canada West Coast volunteers worked incredibly hard at a diverse number of activities. Volunteer Judy Holt documented our efforts and put together the application for this award (no mean feat!)

Canada West Coast was awarded the Community of Excellence award. The picture to the right shows the award being proudly displayed by the three CWC members in attendance at the international Summit conference in Atlanta, GA in May of 2013. The CWC chapter last won this award in 1985.


Rahel Bailie, Aaron Fultz, Mellissa Ruryk

Pacesetter Award

STC’s Community Pacesetter Award recognizes innovative and successful community initiatives. Specifically, it recognizes the successful implementation of a single beneficial innovation that may be implemented by other STC communities.


2012:  Information Interview Service

STC Competition Awards

These awards are given to an entry in the STC Publications Competition. Entries must be thorough, accurate, useful, appropriate, and well executed. Entries must first win at a chapter or regional level before being entered at the Society or International level.

Distinguished Technical Communication

2003/04: Coast Lines, Distinguished Technical Communication (Rob Hughes, Bryan Johnson, Tamara Chapman, Cristina Calboreanu)

2003/04: PR Team, Distinguished Technical Communication for the Regional Conference “Shapeshifters” (Sheila C. Jones, Rahel A. Bailie)

Award of Excellence

2001/02: Coast Lines, Award of Excellence (John Vigna, Tracey Leacock, Kerensa Myers, Heather Washburn)

Award of Merit

2006/2007: Wendy Lee, Agilent Technologies, Inc. Quick Reference Guide, Agilent N2X Packets and Protocols

2006/2007: Lisa Siddons, Chris Ninkovich, and Matthew Rockall, SpeedLine Solutions, Inc., Quick Reference Guide, Quick Reference Sheets for Pizza Hut ADF

2006/2007: Howard Brydle and Heather Mitchell, NGRAIN (Canada) Corp, software guide, NGRAIN 3.2 User Guide

(Contact Competitions Manager for more information about STC Competitions.)


Member Honours


STC members who have held the rank of Associate Fellow for at least three years are eligible to be considered for advancement to the rank of Fellow. These Associate Fellows will have been members of the Society for at least 13 years, and been active in the technical communication profession for at least 18 years.

2009: Rahel Bailie
2004: Sheila Jones

Associate Fellows

STC members who have been active in the field of technical communication for at least 15 years and have been Senior Members for at least five years are eligible to be considered for advancement to the rank of Associate Fellow. In addition, Associate Fellow candidates must have accomplished one or more of the following:

  • Been responsible for important work in the field of technical communication.
  • Done notable original work that has contributed to the advancement of technical communication.
  • Made significant contributions to the Society and helped to tell STC’s powerful story.

Associate Fellows are among the stars of our profession. They usually have held multiple leadership positions, published papers, or written articles or books; they’ve given dozens of presentations and mentored those who are new to our field.

2012: Heather Sommerville
2006: Rahel Bailie
2000: Sheila Jones
1998: Diane Forsyth
1995: Kathleen Sayers, Duncan Kent

Honorary Fellows
(from our neighbourhood)

2001: David Suzuki

Distinguished Chapter Service Award Winners

The Distinguished Chapter Service Awards acknowledge the work of chapter members who provide exemplary service to the Society through their dedication to the chapter and its activities.

2002: Rahel Bailie
2002: Diane Forsyth


Student Membership Awards

path taken

We’re awarding up to three STC Student Memberships to area students. Let us help you follow your professional aspirations. Click for details. Closing date is January 15, 2015. Winners will be announced after February 15, 2015.

Contact the Education Lead for more information about chapter-sponsored Student Membership Awards.


Julia Broderick Scholarship Awards

Julia Broderick embodied all that technical communicators should be: intelligent, inquisitive, and enthusiastic. She was renowned for her adeptness in documenting the complexities of hardware and software and went out of her way to coach new writers.

The STC Canada West Coast Julia Broderick Scholarship was established to reward deserving students who embody Julia’s legacy of excellence, determination, and devotion to the technical communication.

2011: Ulrike Rodrigues
2009: Crystal Auffray, Amanda Lee
2008: James Lee
2007: Christine Rowlands
2002: Lynn Smith
2000: Kevin Chew

Volunteer of the Year

The Canada West Coast Chapter Volunteer of the Year Award recognizes outstanding volunteer service to the chapter throughout the year. The chapter wishes to honour exemplary volunteers whose generous contributions of time, energy, and ideas demonstrate sustained commitment, enhance the chapter’s services to its members, and inspire others to help the chapter thrive. Only members in good standing are eligible for this award.

2013/14: Mark Matsuno
2012/13: not given
2011/12: Sera Kirk
2010/11: Helen Glavina
2009/10: Takuro Ishikawa, Tracey Martinsen
2008/09: Heather Sommerville
2006/07: Pam Drucker
2005/06: Norlinda Ghazali, Lisa Siddons
2004/05: Kathleen Doyle
2003/04: Pina Belperio
2002/03: Artemis Calogeros
2001/02: John Vigna
2000/01: Rahel Bailie